Golden Primaries Trial

Golden gave me some samples, among them hansa yellow, pyrrhole red and pthlalo blue. I decided to use these in a negative space painting – and really try to be strict with myself because I fail miserably often with this, using too much colour. Its on a 10 x 8 inch canvas and I’m using little shot cups to mix, total colour for my dirty pour including some white is about 1/3 of a cup – and worked well!
the video shows the process, I’ve premixed the colours, trying to keep it short…usual mix, paint, floetrol, water, silicon. Usually i use 1:1 paint and floetrol but the golden colours are so intense its more like 1 paint to 3 floetrol and could probably go even less. Golden do say their fluid can be diluted 1 to 15 for pouring…..These aren’t fluid but a kind of soft body paint – as in the paint is soft body, not for painting on soft bodies – each to their own though 😉

 

just red, yellow and blue, but I have greens, browns, violets in the final piece.

I also wanted to try a fun challenge, a painting using grey, silver, gold, pink and either white or black. I chose black but TBH it was a disaster. the silver is several years old and as I discovered, gone pretty lumpy. I thought I’d got lumps out but as final work shows I haven’t….

But as always its a learning experience, I would either chose white next time, or a lighter grey, or perhaps less black and grey, have them as accent colours? I might do this again just to see if i can get it better.
I used the run off from both to pour over some rocks for Norfolk Rocks, fun thing where people hide rocks for kids to find…And then the tray with that run off got used for some dips. Some predictably were awful, greyish brown sludge by the end but two came out pretty well.  I bought a few fridge magnets so might cut the best bits and put into them.

colours used plus white

I forgot I did a couple with some new fluorescent paints, ordered a few but so far only got green and yellow – but new paints won’t wait 😉 so used a couple of others and did one dirty pour flip cup, and one just a pour.

sadly lost that fab out-of-cup look.
dirty flip cup pour
same colours but poured from cup along canvas. I didn’t like the centre so poured quite a bit to get rid of it.
Author: jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

