update on the Golden paints, and what else I’ve painted this week.

now its dry the gold really shows well.

I’m really happy with the fluid paints, the gold and magenta, and the phtlalo blue, incredibly rich colours and i didn’t need to use much paint which of course makes them a lot more economical.

I knew I loved the golden range, have used heavy body ones in the past but thought the way I use paint that these little fluid bottles would be too expensive. they are costly, but given i only needed a little to get the intensity of colour I wanted they’re not as costly as expected. I could probably have used less than I did too.
I find often when acrylics dry not only do they lose that lovely glossy sheen but the colours change, occasionally seem darker but more often lighter, but these were very close to the original colour. ( The gloss can be put back via a varnish when dry BTW) I did add a little of the tube of medium to the black on a black negative painting and it dried with a lovely soft sheen which looks good.

The Goldengold again, plus a bit of the quinacridone magenta from Golden. you can see the sheen on the black, this is dry paint.

Its not all a tube black but some of that mixed with some very dark blue/red/purple run off from another painting. i got quantities wrong and hate waste so decided I’d mix that with some ready made black, a squeeze of the Golden gel medium and use for black negative space. One worked, one wasn’t so good but the black on both came out well.  I haven’t varnished it yet, it will be interesting to see if just one coat brings up the shine, usually i do at least two, probably three before I’m happy. I have done five on one work…Polycrylic minwax is my preferred varnish.
I’ve finally finished a 20 x 20 inch commission, and I’m really pleased. this has the minwax varnish, four coats and is lovely and glossy.

its got tiny dots and seams of frost blue mica, mixed with medium. the medium dries clear leaving just the mica showing
This one is on canvas board, about 20 x 16 I think. I had it the tiniest bit out of level and you can see where the paint moved at the top, but I quite like the way its left slow trails…I had lots of white and nine colours in this. A dirty pour using three cups.
a failed painting over a failed painting and still I wasn’t happy so after swiping, scrpaing and tilting and threw the little leftover bits of paint at it and dropped in some acrylic inks I had lurking in the shed…..and I quite like it now 😉 The first painting I ever sold was a Jackson Pollock inspired one, pre digital photos though so I’ve no pics.
Some leftover paint I scraped up from under the main pic, the canvasboard one above. using those scrapings as the base, with bits of pure colour dropped in to make a dirty pour
negative painting using the golden Magenta

 

Author: jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

