experimenting with housepaint instead of artists white

the painting is awful, but the purpose was to test the housepaint and I’m happy with its performance. Wondering now if I might try a few housepaint colours, test pots maybe? I wouldn’t use them for the more expensive works but these are around £20-40 so I think its fine. I think they’re the kind of paintings people want to go with decor more than falling in love with a subject and wanting to keep it years.
this is closer to what I want, the white looks yellowish but dries up bright white. still a bit too much colour for what I was aiming and I only used two ting pots dark blue, like a prussian, and alizarin red.

I saw Dulux matt white was on offer on Amazon – or maybe just a mistake and I got lucky – at £10 for five litres. Given the W&N or R&L artists white i usually use is around £10 -14 for 500 ml that would make a great saving, especially the way I go through paints….I figured if it didn’t work i’d have paint ready next time we need to decorate.

I wanted to see if it gave the same kind of results. TBH this pic Nathan (grandson no 3) and I did came out pretty horrible but the paint was fine, and this morning looks the same as any with artists white. Rather than keep opening a big tub though and risking it drying, plus getting dirt in I’m planning to pour some into a smaller tub. In fact I might use an old floetrol container and premix to the right consistency ready to paint. That would save time and be handy for those times when i find i’m a tiny bit too short of paint and do a rapid quick mix to finish!
Not happy with the first pic I tried again later last night and this one is much better. I can see the paint that isn’t yet dry has a yellow/cream tint but the dry areas don#t show it and the earlier one is fine so I think that’s just a quirk that won’t show in final pic.
I was originally aiming for negative image in the video but as usual things went wrong. I mixed up van dyke brown, orange, burnt sienna and some gold mica and the white of course but I’d too much colour and Nathan didn’t like the white area so we tilted, added, swiped and finally ran a sheet of acetate over the whole thing. That’s not on the video, did it after filming….NB: Both are pre-used and gessoed canvasses. I hate waste. The brown one with probably get reused again!

I am trying to cut down video size, but somehow seem to be failing so far….I’ll try harder, promise, til then there’s always FF button 😉

Today’s plan is sunflowers. I’ve some fab ones in the kitchen, and I wondered if I could paint them but in a kind of abstract way with this pouring/blowing method of paint manipulation. I like a challenge!

 

Edit: this took a long while to dry, and yesterday I noticed lots of cracking. that’s only happened to me before when i used PVA glue instead of floetrol. It may be that I need more floetrol, it may be that its housepaint instead of my usual artists white or – and I think this is the cause – it may be that the white was too thick, I do have issues with consistency and looking at vid and remembering it was quite thick, didn’t really flow well. I’ve got a couple of others drying that have the housepaint white and a floetrol ratio same as this, but where paint is thinner so when they dry that should tell me if I’m right and its that paint was too thick, or if its actually the lower floetrol. I might try two small ones, just pour the white as a thin and thick mix and see how they dry. I think that would show me a definite cause.
Edit 2: Tried thinner paint in case paint was too thick, tried adding PVA as some discussions suggest, but I still get cracking, though a different cracking with the PVA, kind of wider, more like a separation of paint than a crack. I’m going to use what I’ve premixed but think I’ll stick to artists white, and use the dulux as a gesso, or for the house walls!

Author: jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

