my first art video!

I’ve been playing with trying to video as I’m painting, and uploading to youtube as wordpress free site doesn’t support direct uploads.

This is a quick one showing what happened with a resin coat on an artwork I really like. I thought the resin would really enhance it but its full of tiny holes. Air bubbles I guess. Its a love hate thing, I love the look of resin finish, but hate the way its so easy to mess up. The cure time for this is only a few mins so I had to work quickly. I’ve had best results with pebeo, but that stuff costs so I’m trying a cheaper marine resin, which is a 1 part hardener to 50 parts resin so accuracy is essential. I’ve been weighing it though and now wonder if its a by volume percentage so need to read again to check. that might account for the ripples I have in the finish of the small ones, and two a did a couple of weeks back, compared to the lovely smooth glass like pebeo. My gran always said “cheap always comes dear in the end” and TBH I’m wondering if I just need to save resin for the favourites and suck up the extra cost.
I’ve also been experimenting with argon oil, hair conditioner and handcream in my quest for Big cells. I did go back to my original silicon too as got some good cells with that but I’d forgotten how it affected the paint, making surface uneven and leaving holes in pics every now and then which is why I stopped. I’ll show pics of those when dry. Suffice to say none were a great sucess, so I’m about to order dimethicone…….
I also had a good day gessoing lots of old canvases, pics I don’t like any more so I’ve a lovely batch ready for painting. Did a couple of big MDF bits I had lying round too.