some darker works, and new paints

Did some varnishing yesterday. Of course while I was there has to have a little play…

Second pour

First pour

I tried a little varnish in with the paints and usual mediums. Be interesting to see if that keeps any of the colour brightness when dry. Or is a total fail šŸ˜‰
I think I may have got a little too much black in. These were dirty pours, I’m still finding it difficult to keep colours clear this way and get good cells, swiping seems to work better for me but I’m determined I will get clear colours/good cells this way šŸ˜‰ eventually…..The second one has much brighter colours and maybe it was because I used same dirty pour pot for the first image after doing this one. Ā I hate waste so try to reuse things and as I spray pots with silicon before adding paint ( when I rememeber!) I wiped out the dirty pour with paper towel to reuse and maybe a bit of the colour was left in corners and muddied it a little. these are on deep canvas which I painted black and I’ve left the sides plain rather than trying to cover in paint. I find that’s hard on deep edge and I tend to spoil the top while I’m doing sides.

The resin pics were still a bit tacky and need a second coat when dry but did second coat on the big orange pic, and all the smaller ones from last few days that were dry go a first coat. Second today hopefully. then I’ll show pics showing just how much dif to final colours a good varnish makes, really brings out the depth.

I’ve some new paints arriving today, some taking a few days. I love siennas, and haven’t any except little tubes and I could use one of those up in a couple of pours…so its off to amazon again. I was just looking for burnt sienna and a turquoise/cerulean type colour but of course….found more. I could spend a fortune on paints and stuff. Even restricting myself I spend far too much šŸ˜‰

 

Amsterdam Acrylic Colour 120ml tube TURQUOISE GREEN.Daler - Rowney Graduate Acrylic 500ml Paint Ink Bottle - Burnt Sienna

Phthalo turquoise, turquoise green ( could only get this in 120 ml tube šŸ˜¦ ), burnt sienna ( don’t know why pic shows as pink..). I could have chosen loads more…so amny colours! I do like mixing my own, and always used to do that with browns til I found siennas and umbers, they are such lovely rich colours.

Author: jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

