Painting with granddaughter

Beth did her first acrylic swipe painting yesterday, and they’ve come out really well. She chose purple and red, I didn’t think they’d work so well together, but love them, especially where its the black surrounding them.

we added colours direct to canvas in the middle, and put black along one edge, white along the other. Hers is the rectangular one, mines the long one. I want to do more with these colours. I took the pics last night, you can see where they’ve started to dry. The paint dulls as it dries and the varnish brings back the colour but I’ve been trying to reproduce the “wet” look with varnish, and so far the resin and the new varnish seem to be the best. I’m still uncertain of which way to go, the resin has the edge, I really love the effect of it but its not easy to work with, and is easy to get wrong….whereas the new varnish looks almost as good, and is easy to use. Prob work out cheaper too as I don’t use anywhere near as much. I need to try 2nd, maybe 3 coats to see if that brings it closer to resin.
The resin ones I did Saturday look good, but might need a second coat and I’m really pleased with the other varnish I bought ( polycryl I think it was called, something like that)
The green ones from Sat, with sprinkles look great in the sun, really catch the light. The sprinkles look black until light shines, then they’re a rainbow of colours. Its a shame I can’t seem to capture it on a photo. I love the lacing effect too on the top right of the whole one. It was a corner I didn’t like so just swiped over with my white paint stick which still had a little paint on, and then torched it.


I wanted some burnt sienna and  turquoise paint, ended up buying that and a couple more colours I couldn’t resist, plus some liquitex iridescent medium. that sounds fun and might give me the metallic look I’m after. Love the sprinkles but also want the paint to have a metallic effect on some. Must-stop-buying-paint. Well, unless I sell some paintings 😉

Author: jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

