Having a friend round to play…..Lyn’s first acrylic pour.

And I’m not a kid anymore but that’s how it sounds doesn’t it 😉 Friends round yesterday so after coffee and cake ( well you have to don’t you?) Lyn and I went into shed for her first acrylic pours.

these are 15 x 40 cm (6 x 16 inches) and first is dirty pour, second swipe painting. We wanted top try both. I’m still amazed at how different they come out, yet using the same mix means two paintings that work well together. Or five if you count the three below, 3 x 3 inches. Lyn was really pleased with them, she does lots of crafting, makes amazing birdhouses and now framed blackboards – I want one of them! so she’s off to buy more stuff to carry one with this painting style.
We used floetrol, alchohol and water plus sprayed inside cups with silicon before adding paint. That seems to work better for me than dropping it in by bottle. I get divots and holes in the canvas however thoroughly I think I’ve mixed. Lyn chose bright red, green and yellow plus white.

I used magenta- or it might have been alizarin, I didn’t write it down…., purple, cerulean and dark blue, plus white. We also sprinkled a little iridescent dust over after finishing. Hopefully they dry OK, we spent aggees getting surface level, after I showed her last weeks one I loved that ran off the canvas losing all my lovely shapes 😦  Still, learning curve.

The greens from Thursday seem to be drying well, and the colourful ones from last weekend are dry so I want to try resin on them. Deep breath and go for it. I so love that effect. I’ve put first coat varnish on the 20 x 20 inch orange one too yesterday, but that’s going to need more, the paint is quite thick on that so I want to be sure surface protected and raised bits don’t get chipped.
These look so colourful when wet but the paint dulls as it dries so the varnish helps bring that vibrancy back, and to me the resin gives that “wet look” effect and is fabulous. Just pricey and tough to get right. so far I’ve only done it on some 3×3 in ones done from leftover paint. Have to start somewhere though so fingers crossed. I want to paint some canvasses black too for a try at negative painting…always something new to try.

Author: jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

