more playing, new paints, a big canvas – 20×20 inches, and then a real Fail.

had a play with some new colours on sunday, and some gold dust I’ve had ages, i love a bit of sparkle! I dusted over painting when wet. I forgot to add silicon, and there are few cells but I still love the colours and shapes.

Tuesday I did what I’ve wanted to do since I started this playing – used a 20 by 20 inch canvas. that took LOADS of paint…my dreams of doing this on the 60 x 30 inch canvasses are going to have to wait ;-). I used a mix of green, dark and light yellows, dark and light reds and van dyke brown, and white, plus floetrol, alchohol and silicon. It was still wet 24 hours later so pics reflect wet state. I did a couple of 3 x 3 inch test ones forst as this was aswipe painting, i got too much brown in the first one and too little white for me. I applied the paint direct to canvas and then swiped with a small palette knife to blend and create cells. I like it – its very vibrant though. I want to do the same type but with softer blues and greens maybe. I just wanted to try the new paints this time 🙂 but its not a painting for subtlety!

As I’ve used my litre of floetrol  – and that stuff isn’t cheap – i went online to order more, and the site came up with a “you might like this” option as they d. It seemed to do the same job, was much cheaper at 14 quid instead of 26 per litre so I ordered some to try. Fail. I ended up fiddling so much that I had to scrape everything off the canvas. I did do one 3 x 3 inch one which was ok – ish…didn’t fiddle with it but think it’s go in the fail box too….Playing is fun, but costs, especially when I’l still learning the technique too. I think what we all need to do is see what works for us, not what works for other people. Use that as a guide but make tour own way. I haven’t had any sucess with PVA yet have seen fab ones others have done, and sadly for me its much cheaper than floetrol or liquitex medium. I tried doing a white “negative space in two corners here, and pouring just the yellow and green in centre leaving the colours to mix and swiping over for final touch. But it failed 😉 ah well – it happens and its all learning experience.

 

Author: jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

